USA’s The Masked Singer Season 8 Announces Major Format Change

The Masked Singer USA is about to change some pretty big things ahead of the eighth season’s release later this month.

Typically, the four judges – Ken Jeong, Jenny McCarthy Wahlberg, Nicole Scherzinger and Robin Thicke – vote for their favorite performer alongside the audience. The celebrity with the fewest votes is then eliminated and they take off their costume to reveal their identity.

Now, however, only one act will make it through to each show – meaning there will be many costumed celebrities appearing each week, but only one will make it through to the next stage of the competition.

This means there will be many more celebrity reveals during each episode. The female singer with the fewest votes from the studio audience will be revealed midway through the show.

cyclops, our masked singer


The top two singers with the most votes will then compete in a “Battle Royale” where they will perform the same song and the winner will be named King or Queen of The Masked Singer USA.

This celebrity will then compete in the next episode, while the runner-up will be revealed.

There will also be theme nights for the episodes, with some of the already announced themes being Vegas Night, Comedy Roast, Hall Of Fame, Muppets Night, Andrew Lloyd Webber Night, TV Themes, ’90s Night, Thanksgiving and Fright Night..

In these, each performer will sing a song related to the week’s theme.

firefly the masked singer us season 7


These episodes will also feature many famous non-costumed guests including Donny Osmond, Andrew Lloyd Webber, The Muppets, Will Arnett, Leslie Jordan, Joel McHale, Tori Spelling, Jon Lovitz, Blue Man Group and Drew Carey, among others.

Seven seasons of it The Masked Singer USA aired earlier this year in May, with singer Teyana Taylor (in costume as Firefly) being named the overall series champion.

Season eight returns this month on September 21st.

The masked singer and The masked dancer air on ITV.

Leave a Comment