Sanju Samson to lead strong India A – with Prithvi Shaw, Umran Malik, Ruturaj Gaikwad

Sanju Samson has been named captain of a 16-man India A squad that will play New Zealand A in a three-match ODI series in Chennai between September 22 and 27. It is a team with plenty of international experience, with Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, Shardul Thakur and Navdeep Saini among others in the mix.
Samson was last in action for the national team during their ODI series in Zimbabwe at the end of August, and has for company in India five others from that touring party: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Kuldeep, Shahbaz Ahmed, Thakur and Rahul Tripathi.
One of India’s brightest stars in their triumphant Youth World Cup campaign earlier this year, Raj Bawa, has also found a place in the squad. The 19-year-old seam-bowling all-rounder was named Man of the Match for his 5 for 31 in the final against England and is just starting his senior career. He has played two Ranji Trophy matches for Chandigarh and two IPL matches for Punjab Kings. A place in the A team, among India’s internationals, represents a big step for him.
Of the others in the line-up, Shaw, Rahul Chahar and Umran Malik have all played for their country in one or more formats, while Srikar Bharat, Abhimanyu Easwaran and Rajat Patidar have been on the sidelines, Bharat and Easwaran more for red-ball cricket and Patidar more as small shaped batter. Kuldeep Sen, the fast bowler, was also on the recent Asia Cup tour with the national team, albeit as a net bowler.

For a bunch of these players, the call-up to the one-day team means a transition from red-ball to white-ball cricket: Bharat, Chahar, Abhimanyu, Gaikwad, Kuldeep, Patidar, Tilak Varma and Malik are all in cricket. team for the ongoing four-day series.

Bad weather, accompanied by poor lighting conditions, affected both the completed matches of that series so far, especially the second one at Hubbali, where only 78.5 overs of the game were possible over the four days.
In every game played, Patidar, Abhimanyu, Gaikwad and Varma have shown good form with the bat. Patidar scored 176 in his only innings of the first match when Abhimanyu scored 132 and Varma 121. Gaikwad, meanwhile, scored 108 in India’s first innings in the current third four-dayer.
On the bowling front, Mukesh Kumar, the fast bowler, has eclipsed the more established names, his 5 for 86 in the first match the best individual bowling effort of the series so far.

India One Day Team: Sanju Samson (captain, wk), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, KS Bharat (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabhaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Um Navdeep Saini, Raj Bawa

Leave a Comment